Apple Turnovers

 

Today I would like to share with you  my apple turnover recipe. When I got up today 12\22\2014 , I see four granny smith apples I my fruit bowl that are from last weeks shopping trip. I decide to make Apple turnovers with them .

For the crust I use my favorite pie crust recipe. I got this recipe out of  the ” How To Make A Pie”  cook book  that we purchased some years ago.

Apple Turnovers

Apple turnovers (3)

For a 8-9 inch single Pie Crust

1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon sugar

6 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter

4 tablespoons chilled all-vegetable shortening

3-4 tablespoons ice water

Mix flour, salt, and sugar in food processor fitted with the steel blade. Cut the butter into 1/4 – inch piece.

Scatter butter pieces over flour mixture, tossing to coat butter with flour. Cut butter into flour with 1-second pulses. Add shortening and continue cutting in until flour is pale yellow and resembles coarse cornmeal, with butter bits no larger than small peas, about 4-more 1-second pulses. Turn mixture into bowl.

Sprinkle 3 tablespoons of water over mixture. With  rubber spatula, use folding motion to combine, then press down on dough until dough sticks together, adding up to 1-tablespoon more water if dough will not come together. Shape into ball with hands.

Flatten dough ball into 4-inch-wide disk. Dust lightly with flour, wrap in  plastic, and refrigerate 30 minutes before rolling

©1996 by The Editors of Cook’s Illustrated

While dough was resting I made my  apple filling.

Apple Turnover Filling

4 large apples “I prefer granny smith apples”

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

juice of 1 lemon

1 egg

Peel, core, and cut apples into 1-inch pieces, put into medium sauce pan. Place pan over medium heat, add unsalted butter, cinnamon, sugar, nutmeg, and lemon juice. Cook until apples are tender.  Roll dough out until it is about 1/8 of an inch thick . I used a pizza cutter to cut out four squares dividing the filling between the four squares , then folding the dough over make  triangles. Fold edges of dough up finishing half-moon shape,  using a fork press and  seal the edges. Beat the egg and brush onto turnover sprinkle with sugar if desired. Place parchment paper onto a large baking sheet, place turnovers onto baking sheet.   Bake at 375 decrees for 30-35 minutes, until golden brown.

This makes four large turnovers, you can make them smaller if you wish.

©Come Cook with Me

 

 

