Basic Pizza dough

Basic Pizza Dough

 

Today let’s make pizza. I really enjoy making my pizza at home, I can have thin crust or thick crust. I can use a red sauce or my favorite roasted garlic, with olive oil. I can use mozzarella cheese, goat cheese or feta cheese. I can use any topping I want.

This is the best pizza crust recipe I have found, it makes 4 large thin crust pizzas. We usually make one pizza then put the other three in the freezer. When you want to use one, take it out 2 days ahead of time to thaw. The day of use remove crust from the fridge 2 hours ahead of time to bring to room temperature.

Basic Pizza Dough

½ cup warm water, at about 105 degrees

1 envelope (2 ¼ teaspoons) active dry yeast

1 ¼ cups water, at room temperature

2 tablespoons olive

4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for dusting hands and work surfaces

1 ½ teaspoon salt

Olive oil for oiling bowl

  1. Measure warm water into 2-cup measuring cup. Sprinkle in yeast; let stand until yeast dissolves and swells, about 5 minutes. Add room-temperature water and oil stir until combined
  2. Pulse flour and salt in workbowl of large food processor fitted with steel blade to combine. Continue pulsing while pouring liquid ingredients (holding back a few tablespoons) through feed tube. If dough does not readily form into ball, add remaining liquid, and continue to pulse until ball forms. Process until dough is smooth and elastic, about 30 seconds.
  3. Dough will be a bit tacky, so use a rubber spatula to turn out dough onto lightly flour work surface; knead by hand with a few strokes to form smooth, round ball. Put dough into deep oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise until about double in size, about 2 hours. Punch dough down and turn out onto lightly floured work surface. Divide, if necessary and shape. At this point I divide into 4 balls (that I weigh with the kitchen scales to make as even as I can) I then put 3 balls into the freezer and make one pizza for use.                                                                                                       ©1997 by The Editors of Cook’s Illustrated
