Corn Chowder

Corn Chowder

Today after shoveling the snow from the storm that came through yesterday. I came in and spent some time with my cats (my favorite thing to do). Then once they settled down I got to make some bread (another favorite of mine) to go with tonight’s dinner. While my bread is rising I would like to share my corn chowder recipe which is inspired by my mother. She would make this for the family when money was tight, which was most of the time. I come from a large family and we were raised in the country where potatoes were grown by most of the farmers in the area. My mom’s chowder was on the thin side to make sure everyone got something warm to eat and she always served it with crackers. I like mine to be on the thick side with some extra flavors and Earl likes it served with bread. However,I do still like it with crackers.

Ingredients;

1 or 2 sticks of butter

4 medium potatoes chopped

1 large onion chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

24 ounces of frozen corn

2 teaspoons crushed red pepper

3 cups whole milk or to desired thickness

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pan melt 1 stick of the butter add crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, and chopped potatoes sauté about 5 minutes if you potatoes are dry you may want to add the other stick of butter. Add onion and bell pepper sauté about 3 minutes longer then add frozen corn and milk. Add milk until you get the desired thickness. I usually add about 3 cups until vegetables are just covered. Cover and simmer until potatoes are soft.

I also find this a great way to use up any other milks I have on hand that I may have bought for other recipes. I have added coconut milk, evaporated milk and heavy cream. I have never tried butter milk though.

 

