Poached Haddock

Poached Haddock

I know that no one wants to read about being sick especially on a food blog. Let’s face it we all know someone who has been sick for some days at one time or other.  So what do you feed them? There is Chicken soup, Jell-O and I’m sure you have your favorites. I like poached Haddock it very easy to make and light on the stomach. I have trouble with my stomached anyways so I often have times when I go a day or two without solid food. Needless to say I am tired of all the old standbys. So the last time this happened it was close to shopping day and I asked Earl to get me some Haddock when he went shopping. The following recipe is one my mom used for my dad all the time. Dad loved his poached haddock.

Ingredients

Fresh Haddock approx. 5 ounce

2 teaspoons salt

1 tablespoon pepper

½ lemon

In a frying pan place fish, add enough water to come up about 2/3 of the way up the fish filet. Add the salt, pepper and the juice of the lemon. Bring to a boil and cook about 5 minutes until fish is white and flakey.

This set on my stomach quite well and  it was not Jell-O. I still had to use caution with what I ate and how much, but it really helped me get back onto the road to solid foods again.

