Sour Cream Ice Cream

Sour Cream Ice Cream

Sour Cream Ice Cream

I made this ice cream completely by accident. I hate to waste anything, so when I misread a recipe and used 2 ½ cups of heavy cream mixed with ½ cup of sour cream. I could not bring myself to throw this mixture away so I set it aside until I redid the first recipe the right way. I decided to try my mistake as an ice cream base. This ice cream itself tastes great. You can serve it with pineapple or strawberry topping. I sure that other toppings will work as well these are just the two that we tried. This ice cream has a tang to it but mostly tastes like vanilla ice cream.

Ingredients:

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of whole milk

2 ½ cups of heavy cream

½ cup sour cream

1 tablespoon vanilla

Pinch of salt

Directions:

Place sugar and milk into a mixing bowl. Stir with a whisk until sugar is dissolved. Add sour cream and whisk gently until smooth, add heavy cream, vanilla and salt. Whisk gently until combined. Cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. Then process according to your ice cream makers directions.

My ice cream maker does not use ice and salt the bowl sets in the freezer until I need it. Process time with my ice cream maker was about 17 minutes.

 

