Thank You

Thank You

First I want to say thank you to all of my followers. I really appreciate all of you.

I want to let all of you know that my blog is going to go in a different directions, I really love to cook but I am more than that. I will still be sharing recipes but I also will be sharing photos and stories. Honestly I don’t know for sure where I am going with my blog. I know that I want to write a blog but don’t want to write about just one subject. I like to garden I want to share that. I like to take photos I want to share them, I know that I am just an amateur photographer but some of my photos aren’t that bad. I seldom take pictures of the food I make because when I cook we usually like to eat when its hot. So please bear with me and stay around to see where we end up.

For today let’s start with it is a very nice day, the sun is out, we went for a walk down the road, trying to keep active. We opened the windows for about 1 hour today, even though we still have about a foot of snow out there. It changes the air in the house and boy does it wind the cats up.

For dinner

Tonight I am going to make orange chicken. Never tried this dish before but we both like to change up our food. It can’t be too bad we like the flavors. What I am going to do is when it’s time to cook I will put the cut up chicken breast into some low-sodium soy sauce for 15 to 20 minutes. In the mean time I will chop up some onion (red because we have some left from something else) and colored pepper. We have ginger to grate and garlic to mince.

Then sauté the onions and peppers with a bit of oil until soft, remove from pan and hold. If needed add a little more oil to your pan and sauté the ginger and garlic about 2 minutes. Remove the chicken from the soy-sauces and add chicken to the pan. Cook until chicken is fully done about 8 to 10 minutes put the peppers and onion back in the pan. Put in enough orange sauce to coat (I bought the sauce at the local store), at this point I will taste to see if we want some heat if we do I will add crushed red pepper.

We will be serving this with a salad that Earl made.

The salad

2 carrots, ½ of a European cumber and about 3 inches of a Daikon radish, all chopped about the same size. Marinated in ½ cup rice wine vinegar, ½ teaspoon of Garlic salt, chili flakes, 1 teaspoon black pepper, 2 teaspoons dried parsley and 2 tablespoons of sugar. Let set for a couple of hours.

We make this salad with a sweet main dish because the vinegar cuts the sweetness of the main dish. Although the salad is never quite the same as the time before. If we don’t have one ingredient we substitute something else.

