Up-Side Down Pineapple Skillet Cake

Today has been very productive so far. To start the day like every day I spend two hours entertaining the cats, then I get to do whatever I have planned for the day.

I started with making the base for a vanilla ice cream. This is very easy all you have to do is dissolve 3/4 cup of sugar and a pinch of salt into 1 cup of whole milk. After the sugar is dissolved add 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 tablespoons of vanilla stir and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. With my ice cream maker you do not need salt and ice you keep the bowl in the freezer all the time. When the base is ready churn  for 15 to 20 minutes. This will make a soft serve ice cream. Place into the freezer for a hard ice cream.

While I waited the 2 hours for the ice cream base, I made an Up-side down pineapple skillet cake.

First I cut a fresh pineapple into chunks. Then melted 2 tablespoons of butter into a 10 inch cast iron skillet then turned off the heat, sprinkled 1 cup of brown sugar into the skillet spreading evenly. Place the pineapple chunks in the skillet to cover all of the brown sugar.

For the cake batter, in a large bowl whisk 2 eggs , add in 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of melted butter, 1/2 cup of milk. Add 2 1/4 cups of cake flour, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, 1 teaspoon vanilla and a pinch of salt. Pour evenly over the top of the pineapple. Cook at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes. I made this cake and the ice cream for Easter.

up-side pineapple  skilet cake (3)

I used cake flour to make a lighter cake you may use all-purpose flour, just remember the cake will be more dense. You can also use canned pineapple.

For dinner this evening we will be having homemade pizza.

I will make the pizza dough later and stretch it out onto the pans then Earl will do the toppings and cook them off. We will be making two pizza both are from Food Network.

The first one has pesto sauce with  four cheeses and this tomato salad which is put on after the pizza is cooked. Earl will make the pesto when we are ready to use it. The other  is a traditional pepperoni pizza.

pizza toppings (4)

 

 

 

