The House that Love, Family and Beer Built

 

Mom and Dad

Front of mom's Mom and Dad

Front of mom's

 

Front of mom’s

Kitchen

Kitchen

Kitchen

Kitchen

Kitchen

Kitchen

Back door

Back door

Back side

Back side

Back side 1

Back side 1

Bedroom entrance

Bedroom entrance

Window over sink

Window over sink

Plant over sink

Plant over sink

Wagon wheel

Wagon wheel

Dining nook

Dining nook

Livingroom

Living room

Livingroom

Living room

Bedroom

Bedroom

Dining nook

Dining nook

 

 

The House that Love, Family and Beer Built

Tonight we are having ham salad sandwiches for dinner to use up some of the left over ham from Easter. So while my bread rises I would like to share some picture of a house that my family built and lived in for some time.

The summer that I was 16 my family moved to the southern part of Maine. That first winter the 6 of us lived in a mobile home that we built 3 rooms onto. Mom, dad and the oldest boy found jobs and the other 3 went to high school. In February mom and dad bought an old chicken barn for the lumber. In March we started to tear down the chicken barn and haul the lumber home this took about 3 month. I remember one time my brother Terry and I found ourselves at the chicken barn with no ride and wanted a soda. The closest store was about 1 1/2 miles away so off we go. This may not sound like a long walk but when it is all uphill it is quite a hike.

Then we started to build. Mom’s design, dad was supervisor and the 4 kids swung hammers. It took all summer but we had fun. We took time off to have fun, visit with other family members as they came to see what we were up to. We would go to the beach sometimes stay for the weekend so it was not all work. The first winter in the house we only had a wood stove for heat, this means that the bedrooms were cold but honestly I don’t remember the cold as much as I do the togetherness.

