Needhams

Needhams

Growing up we did not have a lot but we did have parent’s that loved us. I know this not only because I feel it I also saw it in the many things that mom and dad would make for us. They would make candy for us all the time even before making homemade candies was the thing to do. These needhams are really easy to make and bring back such great memories for me. The first time I helped mom make some I remember saying you put potato in candy. She told me that I have eaten them before without complaining. Then we dipped them into the chocolate (even then I was a full fledge chocoholic) since that makes everything taste good I had chocolate clear to my elbows.

Ingredients

¾ cup mashed potatoes

½ teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons powder sugar

1 stick butter melted

½ pound shredded coconut

2 teaspoon vanilla

Chocolate for dipping

12 ounce chocolate bits

4 squares of baking chocolate

½ block cake wax

Mix the mashed potatoes, salt, powder sugar, melted butter, coconut and vanilla. Place evenly onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Cool until hard then cut into squares. Melt the chocolate bits, chocolate squares and wax over hot water (keep water hot in case you need to soften the chocolate up again). Dip squares into chocolate. To do this you can place a tooth pick in each piece of candy if you don’t have a dipping tool.

 

 

