Chopped at Home

Chopped at Home

That’s right Earl and I finally did our own version of chopped. First he picked out 4 ingredients for me to cook then the next week I picked out 4 ingredients for him.

Stuffed Pork Roast

Stuffed Pork Roast

He picked for me

1 pork loin roast

1 bunch of kale

4 fresh ears of corn

1 pound of gourmet blue potatoes

I added

Cream cheese

1 medium onion, chopped

Salt and pepper

¼ cup Champaign vinegar

1/3 cup Olive oil

2 tablespoons Whole ground mustard

2 tablespoons Butter

I made a stuffed pork roast with kale sauce and corn and potato hash. First I butterflied the pork and stuffed it with 4 ounces cream cheese and some kale leaves. Tied it up with butcher’s string then seared it on all sides. Placed it in a pre-heated oven of 350 degrees and cooked it about 45 to 55 minutes.  I Cut the corn off the cob, cut the cobs in half and boiled then for 10 minutes I then removed the cobs. I cut the potatoes in half and par-cooked them in the cob stock. I then placed 2 tablespoons of butter in a large sauté pan and cooked the corn, onion, salt and pepper 10 to 15 minutes. Add the potatoes and 4 ounces of cream cheese heat until cheese melts. Meanwhile I took the rest of the kale and sautéd it down in a large pan. Placed it in a blender with whole grain mustard, olive oil, champagne vinegar, salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. To serve I placed the kale sauce on the plate placed the corn and potato hash with a slice of pork on top.

Filet Mignon

Filet Mignon

I picked for him

12 ounces of blueberries

1 head of cauliflower

2 5 ounce pieces filet mignon

12 ounces of pistachio’s

He added

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

¼ cup sugar

3 tablespoons Olive oil divided

4 teaspoons Italian seasoning divided

Juice of one lemon

Salt and pepper

Potatoes

Cut the potatoes like steak fries pour 1 tablespoon olive oil onto baker’s sheet, season potatoes with 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. He roasted the pistachios in a sauté pan about 8 minutes. In a sauce pan place the blueberries, balsamic vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. Cook about 5 to 10 minutes then mash the berries (he used a spoon pressing against the side of the pan). Reduce for 10 minutes. Strain through a fine sieve.  Cut the cauliflower into chunks and sauté with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, lemon juice, and 2 teaspoons of Italian season, salt and pepper. Cook until tender. Season filet mignon with salt and pepper sear 2 ½ minutes on both sides. Place in 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.

 

To serve place cauliflower on a plate sprinkle pistachios on top, place potatoes beside. Then place filet on plate with blueberry sauce on top.

 

 

