Thank You

Thank You

I want to thank everyone who weighed in on my name change. You have given me a lot to think about.

In the meantime today Earl is making chili for dinner and wants me to make corn bread. I have tried many different recipes and always go back to my Betty Crocker’s cook book.

Corn Bread

1 cup milk

¼ cup butter melted

1 large egg

1 ¼ cup yellow, white, or blue cornmeal

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

I add ½ teaspoon of fresh cracked black pepper which the recipe does not call for.

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease sides and bottom of round pan 9×1 ½ inches, or square pan 8 x8 x 2 inches, with shorting.

Beat milk, butter and egg in large bowl. Stir in the remaining ingredients all at once just until flour is moistened (batter will be lumpy). Pour batter into pan.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

You can also use a muffin tin, this makes 12 medium muffins 2 ½ x 1 ¼ inches. Grease the sides and bottom of the tins or use paper baking cups. Fill about ¾ full. Baking is the same.

 

